The Bible on the History Channel

13 Mar

History-Channel-The-Bible-2

There’s alot of opinions about the new mini-series “The Bible” airing on the History Channel. I’ve read widely varying reviews from Rick Warren calling it the best Bible movie he’s ever seen to others suggesting it is racist and horrifying. First off, I just want to say that I applaud Mark Burnett and his wife for making it. Any Christian who endeavors to make a Bible movie knows going in that you’re going to get criticized from within the Christian community no matter how well you do. And for the Burnetts, they get the added criticism from outside, especially in their world of Hollywood entertainment.

Since I don’t really like to write on big news, but several people have asked my for my thoughts, I think I found a compromise. I read a bunch of other blogs, and many of them are posting their reviews. Each week, say by Tuesday evening (late), after I’ve had a chance to read through a bunch of other reviews, I’ll post a link here to the review that best captures my thoughts on the week, or up to that point in the series. I hope you find it useful.

Week 1 – Not the Absolute Train Wreck I Thought it Would Be

Week 2

Week 3

Week 4 – Botched!

For week 5, I’m going to add a few of my own comments because of all the reviews I read, I couldn’t quite land on one that fit my thoughts close enough. Part of me feels like this post. I’m disappointed with all the purposeful changes. It wasn’t like there was just a few minor issues. There were tons! And many of them were theologically significant. How I wish someone would make a more faithful account! On the other hand, as I searched the internet for reviews, I kept coming across posts or comments from people that shared how impactful the series was for them. For some, it was the first time they personally encountered Christ. And if there’s more people in the pews next Sunday, that’s a wonderful thing. I did find the presentation powerfully moving, especially the final night, even if it lacked adherence to Scripture. So I leave this series with mixed feelings. I am delighted that God’s name was proclaimed to so many people. I pray that more people will come to know Him and read truth in His Word. And finally, I am hopeful that the success of this will lead to better and more accurate films.

Other recommended stories & posts

‘Jesus’ to get miniseries after success of ‘Bible’

Mark Burnett says ‘weird things happened’ on ‘The Bible’ set

5 Secrets of ‘The Bible’

The History Channel’s “The Bible” Features a White Surfer Jesus

See What Famous Celebrities Were Saying on Twitter!

One Response to “The Bible on the History Channel”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Top 10 Bible movies | Sound Reason & More - October 1, 2014

    […] Finally, just a note about the History Channel’s The Bible. It doesn’t quite make my top 10. While much of the production was very good, and some of the segments were excellent, I felt that overall there was too much monkeying with significant parts of the story in ways that were harmful theologically. You can read more about my thoughts here. […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

